Great Listen


Following on the coattails of my comments about a great read, I have to say that tonight I listened to some of the best new music I have heard in a long, long, long time. It is by a young artist named Phil Wickman, who at 21 has a maturity in his lyrics and melodies that provokes both the mind and emotions to worship of the Living God.

I have often been disappointed by a lot of the music that is promoted in churches as new worship music, finding that most of it is trite and shallow and devoid of any real depth of doctrine, significance, and in some cases Gospel. While the “style” of music is for me a foolish argument, because the hymns were written to be the contemporary music of their day, I believe whole-heartedly in expecting music played and sung in church to actually say something instead of mindless repetition of a Christian cliche designed to go on a t-shirt or bumper sticker.

I will attach the lyrics to a song from the album, called Beautiful, which is such an awesome way of describing Christ in song. The last verse is highlighted, and that is the awesome hope we have as Christians, that one day we will dine with the Beloved and we as His Bride will be joined to Him forevermore, never to struggle with pain or loss or death or sadness or sickness, but will forever be in His glory and in His Sabbath-rest. In the words of John, “come, Lord Jesus.”

I see your face in every sunrise
The colors of the morning are inside your eyes

The world awakens in the light of the day

I look up to the sky and say… You’re Beautiful

I see your pow’r in the moonlit night

Where planets are in motion and galaxies are bright

We are amazed in the light of the stars

Its all proclaiming who you are… You’re beautiful

I see you there hanging on a tree
You bled and then you died and then you rose again for me

Now you are setting on your heavenly throne

Soon you will be coming home… You’re Beautiful


When we arrive at eternity’s shore

Where death is just a memory and tears are no more

We’ll enter in as the wedding bells ring

Your bride will come together and we’ll sing… You’re Beautiful

You are Beautiful… Thank you..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OeZNJN5JHwY

SDG,
Scott

Leave a comment